AUSTIN, Texas—A former journalism instructor and two former newspaper executives have been inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame.

The inductions of Martin L. Gibson, Fred Hartman and Florentino Duran came Friday night as part of the Texas Press Association's 2014 Midwinter Conference and Trade Show in Austin. Gibson and Hartman were honored posthumously.

Inclusion in the Hall of Fame is based on outstanding achievements in and contributions to the newspaper industry.

Duran was the only inductee still living. He is president of Duran Duran Industries and publisher of La Prensa San Antonio. He is a former president of the National Association of Hispanic Publications and in 1995 established the La Prensa Foundation, which has raised and donated more than $2 million to local college students to further their studies.

Duran, whose newspaper was never affiliated with the Texas Press Association, said he was deeply honored to have been recognized by the foundation.

"I've been successful by the grace of God," he said. "This award is so magnifying for my life."

Gibson spent 24 years teaching journalism at the University of Texas at Austin after a professional newspaper career that included stints at the Austin American-Statesman, the New York Daily News, the Chicago Tribune, the Houston Chronicle and The Galveston County Daily News.


He died in 1993 at age 59.

Hartman began his newspaper career as a sportswriter and later became chairman of Southern Newspapers before starting his own newspaper company, Hartman Newspapers. He founded the Houston chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America and served as president of the Texas Daily Newspaper Association in 1965 and in 1978. He died in 1991 at the age of 83.