• Article Image Alt Text
    Texas Republican Chairman, James Dickey, speaks with an audience at the Young County Republican Gala hosted Monday at the Young County Arena. Candidates who are filing for a state position in the March 2020 Primary election must file with their state party chairman. Dickey is the chairman for the Republican party and for Gilberto Hinojosa is the chairman for the Democratic party. (Leader photo by Thomas Wallner)

2020 Primary Election filing begins

With the closing of the Constitution Amendment Election this week, Texas now moves into the beginning of the 2020 Primary Election with filing starting Saturday, Nov. 9.

Saturday is the first day to “file for all other candidates for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Primary ballot,” for the Tuesday, March 3 Primary Election along with the first-day independent candidates can file a declaration of intent, according the Texas Secretary of State office. The filing deadline for candidates and independent candidates to file their declaration of intent will be 6 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 9.

Offices up for election in 2020 include: U.S. President and Vice President, U.S. Representative of District 19, Texas U.S. Senator, Railroad Commissioner, District Judge of District 90, District Attorney of District 90, Young County Sheriff, Young County Attorney, Young County Tax Assessor-Collector, Young County Commissioner of Precinct 1 and 3, Young County Constables of Precinct 1 and 3, three members of the Supreme Court, three members of the Court of Criminal Appeals, Court of Appeals Justices and the State Board of Education.

Young County Republican Chairman Kyle Milam said in a press release that local incumbents who have indicated their intent to refile on the 2020 Republican Primary ballot are District Judge Stephen Bristow, District Attorney Dee Peavy, Young County Sheriff Travis Babcock, Young County Attorney Christopher Baran, Young County Commissioner of Precinct 1 Mike Sipes, Young County Commissioner of Precinct 3 Stacey Rogers, Constable of Precinct 1 Tommy Martin and Constable of Precinct 3 Cliff Blackstock. Young County Tax Assessor-Collector Nancy Thomas announced in October she will not be seeking a sixth term after 20 years in the position.

The running for Young County Sheriff was contested in 2016 with five candidates making a run for the position. Since no one candidate received more than 50% of the votes, a Republican Primary run-off election was held in May 2016 between Travis Babcock and Billy Jay Hutchens in which Babcock won the election.

For the full story, see the Saturday, Nov. 9 edition of The Graham Leader.



The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589