Article Image Alt Text


Early voting begins in HD68 election, five running for seat

Early voting in HD 68 election to end Jan. 19

Early voting in the Texas House of Representatives District 68 election began this week in Texas and started off slow in Young County with 10 voters as of Monday. This election is to fill the seat vacated by Drew Springer, who won the Texas Senate District 30 position in December 2020.

Gov. Greg Abbott issued a proclamation Saturday, Dec. 23, setting the date for a special election for HD68 in Texas. Five candidates filed to run for the Texas House of Representatives District 68 seat by Monday, Jan. 4, at 5 p.m. with the Texas Secretary of State. Those candidates and the order in which they will appear on the ballot according to the Texas Secretary of State are, John Berry (R), Jason Brinkley (R), Craig Carter (R), Charles D. Gregory (D) and David Spiller (R).

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Monday, Jan. 4, to have their names placed on the special election ballot. HD68 covers the counties of Childress, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Crosby, Dickens, Fisher, Floyd, Garza, Hall, Hardeman, Haskell, Jack, Kent, King, Montague, Motley, Stonewall, Throckmorton, Wheeler, Wilbarger and Young.

For the rest of the story, see the Jan. 13 edition of The Graham Leader.

The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589