• Article Image Alt Text

Filing begins in March state Primary Election

Election filing runs through Dec. 13 in March state Primary Election

Candidate filing for the Texas 2022 March Primary Elections opened Saturday across the state. Candidates can file with their party chairs in the county for a place on the March 1, 2022 primary ballot, and in Young County several candidates announced their intentions to run Saturday.

Local positions up for election in the March Primary Election are Young County District Clerk - held by Jamie Land, Young County Clerk - held by Kay Hardin, Young County Judge - held by John Bullock, Young County Treasurer - held by Ann Daily, Young County Commissioner Precinct 2 - held by Matt Pruitt, Young County Commissioner Precinct 4 - held by Jimmy Wiley, Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 - held by Jason Hearne, and Justice of the Peace Precinct 3 - held by Stan Mahler. The terms for those currently elected officials end Dec. 31, 2022, according to a list on the Young County Elections website.

Other offices up for election in 2022 are U.S. Senator, District 19 U.S. Representative, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Comptroller of Public Accounts, Commissioner of the General Land Office, Commissioner of Agriculture, Railroad Commissioner, three justices of the Supreme Court, two judges and the Presiding Judge from the Court of Criminal Appeals, District 30 Texas Senator , District 68 Texas Representative, Chief Justice of the 2nd Court of Appeals District and three justice of the 2nd Court of Appeals.

For the rest of the story, see the Nov. 17 edition of The Graham Leader.

The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589