Article Image Alt Text


House District 68 election day this Saturday

As early voting concludes today in the Texas House of Representatives District 68 election, election day approaches Saturday in the 22 counties within the district. The election is to fill the seat vacated by Drew Springer who won the Texas Senate District 30 position in December 2020.

Springer was sworn into his Senate District 30 position Wednesday, Jan. 6, by Gov. Greg Abbott after first being elected to serve in the HD68 seat in 2012 and serving eight years in the position. Five candidates filed to run for the Texas House of Representatives District 68 seat by Monday, Jan. 4, at 5 p.m. with the Texas Secretary of State. Those candidates and the order in which they appear on the ballot according to the Texas Secretary of State are, John Berry (R), Jason Brinkley (R), Craig Carter (R), Charles D. Gregory (D) and David Spiller (R).

Gov. Greg Abbott issued a proclamation Saturday, Dec. 23, setting the date for a special election for HD68 in Texas. Early voting began last week on Monday, Jan. 11, and ran through Tuesday, Jan. 19, at two locations in Young County. The county started slow with 10 voters showing up on the first day of early voting but quickly moved to over 150 by the end of the first week of early voting, according to Young County Elections Administrator Lauren Sullivan.

For the rest of the story, see the Jan. 20 edition of The Graham Leader.

The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589