• Article Image Alt Text

Turnout low in last Tuesday’s state election

Seven constitutional amendments were on the ballot Tuesday, Nov. 7 and an estimated 757 registered voters (6.5 percent) out of 11,652 in the county voted on election day and during early voting in Young County.

Filing for next year’s primary elections begins Saturday, Nov. 11 with the information related to filing for each office available on Texas Secretary of State Rolando Pablos’ website at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/guide/.

Primary Election Filling

Filling for primary elections began Saturday, Nov. 11 and will continue through Monday, Dec. 11. The last day to register to vote will be Monday, Feb. 5, 2018.

Offices up for election in the 2018 primary election include:

U.S. Senator – Ted Cruz (six-year term)
Governor – Greg Abbott (four-year term)
Lt. Governor – Dan Patrick (four-year term)
Attorney General – Ken Paxton (four-year term)
Comptroller of Public Accounts – Glenn Hegar (four-year term)
Commissioner of General Land Office – George P. Bush (four-year term)
Commissioner of Agriculture – Sid Miller (four-year term)
Railroad Commissioner – Christi Craddick (six-year term)
State Senator, District 30 – Craig Estes (four-year term)
State Representative, District 68 – Drew Springer (two-year term)
Justice, 2nd Court of Appeals, Places 2 and 7 – Bill Meier and Lee Gabriel (six-year terms)
Young County Judge – John Bullock (four-year term)
District Clerk – Jamie Freeze Land (four-year term)
Young County Clerk – Kay Hardin (four-year term)
Young County Treasurer – Ann Daily (four-year term)
Young County Commissioners, Precinct 2 and 4 – Matt Pruitt and Jimmy Wiley (four-year term)
Justices of the Peace, Precinct 1 and 3 – Robert Dial and Stan G. Mahler (four-year terms)
Unexpired Term of Constable, Precinct 3 – Freddie Page (four-year term)

For the rest of this story, subscribe to our print or online edition.



The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589