Article Image Alt Text

Gilbertson, Brice nominated for DCTF/Whataburger SuperTeam

With the UIL season winding down, the time for postseason honors will be here soon. Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, in conjunction with Whataburger has announced the nominations for the 2019 Whataburger SuperTeam.

Newcastle’s Lane Brice and Graham’s Daniel Gilbertson are the two local players who were nominated from the area. Gilbertson, a three-sport athlete, has been nearly an offensive do-it-all for the Steers this season. He has lined up at quarterback, wide receiver and running back. Despite being hampered by injuries this season, Gilbertson has scored a total of 26 touchdowns(two passing, 17 rushing and seven receiving). He ran for 1047 yards on 122 carries while amassing 751 yards on 61 catches. On the defensive side of the ball, Gilbertson has seven tackles and an interception.

“Individual honors do not really matter as much to me,” said Gilbertson, who did not previously know of his nomination.“My only goal (was) to help this team get to where we know we can go.” Gilbertson, a junior, had big shoes to fill this season after Chase Gilmore graduated in May. Coach Kenny Davidson has often said throughout the season that he would find more ways to get the ball into Gilbertson’s hands. This includes the usage of the wildcat offense, frequently towards the end of the season.

While brother J.D. Bricewas expected to lead the Newcastle offense this season, it has been Lane who has had a standout season for the Bobcats. Lane is a do-it-all kind of player for the Bobcats. He has 201 rushing yards and two rushing touchdowns. He’s caught 13 passes for347 yards and five touchdowns. On the defensive side of the ball he has 73 tackles. Lane has two interceptions and one fumble recovery. He also has a kick return touchdown.

“Lane has been a great player. He has everything that a coach would want,” said Newcastle football coach Julian Menchaca.“He’s accountable, tough, team player and great in the classroom. He did a lot for us on both sides of the ball. He played safety, linebacker, Wide Receiver and running back.”

According to a release from Dave Campbell’s TexasFootball, former SuperTeam winners include AndrewLuck (Stratford HS), Garrett Gilbert (Lake TravisHS, Carolina Panthers), Malcom Brown (BrenhamHS, Los Angeles Rams), Jonathan Gray (Aledo HS, NFL), Kyler Murray (AllenHS, Arizona Cardinals), Jamal Adams (HebronHS, New York Jets) and Malik Jefferson (Mesquite Poteet HS, Cincinnati Bengals). Voting lasts through Dec. 31 for the 40-member SuperTeam. Fans can go to

The Graham Leader

620 Oak Street
P.O. Box 600
Graham, Texas 76450
Phone: (940) 549-7800
Fax: (940) 228-0589